top of page

How to Build! Dark Angels Bladeguard Veteran


Welcome back, folks, to Dank Lists Wargaming for today’s How to Build! Dark Angels Bladeguard Veteran adventure. Since Bladeguard Veterans officially received the Deathwing keyword in the new Space Marine Codex, the goal is to use lots of Deathwing decorations and equipment to make the Veterans look like their terminator brethren.


In order to do this, I selected: a Deathwing knight shoulder pad; storm shield; and knife from the Deathwing Terminator Box. In the miscellaneous bin, I found a base decoration from the Dark Vengeance Deathwing Terminator kit. Finally, I discovered a hooded marine helmet similar to the Bladeguard Veteran helmet from the Dark Angels Veterans box. All of these bits I will use to Dankify an Indomitus Push-fit Bladeguard Veteran.


One of the biggest issues I run into with building Space Marine models, especially when converting them, involves how their shoulder pads fit under their power packs. Additionally, there is an issue specific to this build surrounding the Terminator arm with its power cable.

I previously tried to remove these from a kit cleanly and it proved impossible. Therefore, I must take off the left shoulder pad and arm of the Bladeguard Veteran at the joint to make room for the entire Terminator arm. With the shield being a focal point of the model, I start my hobby journey here.


I use my Army Painter Hobby Saw and start under the armpit because of the angle of the pad against the neck guard of the Marine armor up top.

I then use files to clean up the shoulder till it is smooth and flat.

I proceed to putting the body together with Citadel Plastic Glue, front to back.

This particular model utilizes a large pin on the power pack to push the body together but since I am using glue it is less important.

I change tack here to place the shoulder pad on the shield arm. Usually, people put the arm on and then the pad but due to the position of the power pack it might block you from applying a molded shoulder correctly. This is why I put the pad on the arm first because sometimes I can sneak a pad in that way when doing it the conventional way would not be possible. I noticed that you can match up the iconography on the shield with the shoulder pad which I did for this model.

I got the pad to apply flush to the shoulder joint.

I then place the completed left arm on the model.

The right arm, bearing the sword, comes completely built with the shoulder pad so it easily attaches to the shoulder joint.

Pay attention to the power pack and the other arm while attaching the right arm. Applying pressure and handling the model might shift or pop off the power pack or left arm.

To signify this Veteran is a member of the Deathwing, I add a ceremonial Deathwing knife to his belt.

According to my personal preference, I place the head of the model on last. I position it in order to maximize its dynamic in relation to the arms and body of the model.

The last piece consisted of the base decoration. I needed to make an audible here because the originally pictured decoration of a Chaos Marine Head took up too much space on the Push-Fit base from the Indomitus Box. I switched it for another Dark Vengeance base decoration of a skull and bullet casings. Why a skull? This is a model for Warhammer 40,000 correct? Then of course there needs to be a skull on it somewhere!

With the final addition of the base decoration, I am finished. I can’t wait to use this model in a game of Warhammer 40,000 and I hope he gets the Inner Circle rule in January when the Dark Angels Codex supplement is predicted to drop.

Thank you all for coming along this adventure with me. No wizards, dwarves, or Hobbit holes but if you want to see more How to BUILD! articles, please look through the rest of our blog. If you prefer videos, check out our Youtube Channel instead.


Keep it dank,


Bailey

553 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram

If Your Lists Start to Tank, It's Time to Get Dank!

bottom of page