top of page
Writer's pictureDank Lists

How to BUILD!: Dark Angels Indomitus Captain

Updated: Sep 10, 2020


I continued down at the helmet adding the left side of the helmet to the face plate.

Welcome back folks to another edition of How to: BUILD! After a long and agonizing hiatus, I managed to get my hands on an Indomitus Primaris Captain. I knew once I got him I couldn’t just build him. I must dank him up. Therefore, today I will show you how I turned the regular Indomitus Primaris Captain into a Dark Angels Indomitus Captain.


First, I rummaged through my Dark Angels bitz box for appropriate accoutrements. Starting on the left, I selected the helmet in hand pieces from the Master Lazarus Box as well as Lazarus’ head. From the Dark Angels Veteran box, I acquired a shoulder pauldron, the smaller shoulder shield or ecranche,a censer, and a back banner. Finally, I grabbed a Watcher in the Dark from the Deathwing Terminator’s Box.

Moving on to assembling, I started with the Indomitus booklet and go with putting the two body pieces together. I deviated from the generic plan by not attaching the head in the recommended place with the two body parts. I always like to do heads last so I can dynamically pose them in relation to the rest of the model, especially the arms.

Speaking of arms, I put the left arm that attaches to the big shield on next. I followed up by placing the relic on the shield. Then I proceeded to attach the shield to the rest of the model at the wrist.

Moving over to the right arm, things got interesting. I use my snips to remove the post for the right arm and file down any remaining plastic on the shoulder.

I continued down at the helmet adding the left side of the helmet to the faceplate.

I added the right side.

I attached the wrist on the helmet to the arm.

I experimented with some dry fitting to see how crowded the shoulder will be with the shoulder shield and the helmet. I noted I needed to take a nub off the back of the shield which I did with snips before filing down smooth.


It happened that at this point I decided the hole for the original shoulder shield needed to go.


By taking off the edge, I created the room for the helmet and the pauldron. I applied the arm to shoulder but still couldn’t find a way to get the shoulder shield on without crowding that area of the model. I returned to the bitz box and found another piece from my Veterans box that plugged the hole in the right shoulder nicely.


With the major body work done, I removed the ornate but generic iron halo on the power pack in order to back room for the danker Dark Angels back banner.


I glued the back banner to the top of the power pack.

I glued the power pack to the back of the captain.

I went from head to toe by adding the less decorate basing that comes with the kit because I wanted room on the 40mm base for the Watcher and not a dead Necron.

I reversed direction and carefully placed the head looking off to the left over the shield.

To top it all off, I placed the captain and Watcher on a 40mm base with sticky tack. I used sticky tack because I like to prime my models off their bases in order to get paint in all the nooks and crannies. Despite this personal preference, I wanted to show off the overall concept of the model by arranging it on a base for this article.

I am pleased with how this model turned out and I am glad that it required only a small audible in the process. I love the process of building unique pieces for wargames which is why I started this project in the first place. Thank you all for coming along this creative journey with me. If you want to see more How to BUILD! articles, please look through the rest of our blog and check out our Youtube Channel.


Keep it dank,


Bailey

290 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page