top of page
Writer's pictureDank Lists

How To: Paint MDF Terrain LCW 8" x 4" Blockhouse

Updated: Oct 27, 2019


Hey folks, today we take the Laser Craft Workshop's MDF Terrain Sector 38 Hab Block 8" x 4" Blockhouse and paint it the luckiest color, blue. If you wish to know how we built the blockhouse, please check out our How To: Build article here.


To get started, we need to prime the blockhouse. We went outside with an old cardboard box that we collapsed and placed the blockhouse in three separate pieces on the cardboard box. We prime on a cardboard box in order to protect the yard from the paint as well as protect the paint from sticking to the grass in the yard. We prime in three separate pieces so that we get good coverage of everything. Since we expect players to take the roof off the blockhouse we want to make sure we paint the inside of it too. This means it needs primer just like the outside.




We primed our blockhouse outside on a low humidity day within the temperature range suggested on the can using the Rust-oleum 2x Ultra Cover Flat Black Primer. I like to prime in black when possible because it adds natural depth to the colors that go on top of it. Black may mean extra layers and extra colors to get the color you want but if you miss a stop it just looks like shadows rather than a glaring mistake when using colors like white to prime.



After letting the paint breathe and dry outside for a few hours, we brought the blockhouse inside and let it dry overnight. If I brought the blockhouse in the house immediately after priming then the fumes from the primer would stink up the house.


I move on to painting the blockhouse in the desired color. Since the blockhouse will primarily be blue, I want to paint that first and then go back for detail work. I always start with the darkest hue of the color I want to use for a base coat. For this project, I used Apple Barrel's Admiral Blue. Before pouring the paint out on my palette, I shake the bottle. I make sure to do this with every color before using it. I used a larger brush because I want to get through the base coat quickly and I know I will cover up any loose painting later with my detail work. Remember, every new color provide the opportunity to clean up a previous one.



I don't thin down this paint and I am not dry brushing. I directly applying the paint from the bottle to the blockhouse with my brush. I do take some of the paint off my brush when I dip the brush in the paint for I don't overdo it. Otherwise, the paint clumps up because there is too much. To stop clumping in the paint, I use my brush to wipe it away and spread the excess paint around the model.


I also make sure to paint in the same direction with my brush because I want the brush strokes to appear uniform across the model. Additionally, try to keep paint off the edges of the main building and the roof that will meet when finished. The build up of paint in that joint will prevent the building from closing properly.


With the base coat on, we continue on to a true blue color. In fact, Apple Barrel hits the nail on the head with their Too Blue.


I use the same size brush as I did before. I paint in the same direction but I am less worried about the nooks and crannies on this layer because the Admiral Blue and black primer will add depth in shadow in those places.


I move to the roof with the same intent.


The last layer of blue consists of a dry brush of Apple Barrel's Award Blue.



When using a dry brush on a model with so many hard edges, I like to start on the edges and work my way in. Keep the dry brush stroke all in the same direction otherwise the look comes off a little funny. In this case, I went up-down. The look in the end gives the illusion of a little wear and tear.



The bulk of the painting finished, we move to the details. I start with a much smaller brush and FolkArt's Brushed Metal Brushed Dark Gray. I am just painting on like I did with the first two blues on the flat panels around the raised panels.


I managed to keep most of the metal color on the panels but I did go over the lines a bit. No worries though as I plan to clean up everything at the end.


With the flat panels finished, I turn my attention to the raised panels. I selected FolkArt's Metallic Antique Copper. I will paint this on too. The metallic paint loves to clump up so make sure to keep an eye on it.


Once again, any place I over paint my lines I will clean up at the end.


I need to make sure I keep my hands clean because a little wet paint on a finger will always find a way to a place it's not supposed to be.

The rivets in the panels, door, floors of the building and roof, and windows will round out the detail work on the main building and roof for this project. I choose a much brighter silver color so the rivets stick out in FolkArt's Brushed Metal Brushed Silver. I use the very small brush for this one.


A brush that's head just covers the width of the rivet head makes a perfect brush for this work. Minding that the paint will want to clump, I want a thick bit of paint on my brush so that's required to get the paint on the rivet is a quick and incisive stab.


To clean up, I start with the copper and work backwards through all the colors filling in corners, covering up overflow, and solidifying edges.



With the main floor and roof completed, the last piece on the blockhouse remains; the ladder.

Returning to FolkArt's Brushed Metal Brushed Dark Gray and a small brush, I cover the entirety of the ladder. I take note to clear up any excess or clumping paint.


Next, I dry brush FolkArts Brushed Silver.

I want the dry brush here to highlight the exposed edges of the ladder and make them pop.


I place the ladder on the roof of the main building for a completion photograph.


This model took some time to paint, a matter of a few hours. Despite this, I enjoy the experience and the look of it finished energizes me to get it on the table and play with it. Don't forget to take the model outside and apply a spray of Rust-oleum Matte Clear Varnish or equivalent sealer to seal the paint so it won't rub off after a few uses.


This wraps up my How To: Paint Laser Craft Workshop's MDF Terrain Sector 38 Hab Block 8" x 4" Blockhouse. If you want to purchase your own blockhouse, please click here for it and many other excellent MDF Terrain products.


For more How To:'s, please look through our blog and our Youtube channel.


Until next time, keep it dank!


Bailey

32 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page