top of page
Writer's pictureDank Lists

How To: Build a LCW MDF Terrain 8" L-Shaped Blockhouse


Hey folks, welcome back to my How To: Build series with the Laser Craft Workshop MDF Terrain 8" L-Shaped Blockhouse. This blockhouse comes separately but I got mine in the Sector 38 Hab Block Starter. If you want to know what else comes with the Starter Set, please check that article out here.


The building comes in a baggie with everything you need.


The kit includes: two 8" L-shaped floor boards; one ladder set; three 4" walls; a 4" door wall; two 8" walls; seven windows; eight roof panels; four 4" roof sides; two 8" roof sides; fourteen building panels of various sizes; and a door.



I started with the main building. I took one of the floor boards to be the floor of the main building. I also selected one of the 8" walls to glue. I made sure the tabs faced down and glued the backside of those tabs and the flat spaces in-between them. When the wall and floor get pushed together, I end up with this shape.


I used a combination of paper towel, a toothpick, and my finger to clean up excess glue on this step and any step that requires glue.This leaves me ready to place the second 8" wall forming the coveted L-shape. I repeat the same gluing process on this wall as the previous 8" wall. In addition, I glue the side tabs and in-between strips on the left side of the wall so it connects into the already standing wall.


With the 4" walls to go up next, I took a moment to dry fit them. The four walls that include the door wall are not all the same in terms of where tabs are on a wall. In order to make sure the walls end up in the correct places, I dry fit the walls how I thought I wanted them to go on the floor before proceeding to glue them in.


I started gluing with the 4" wall with tabs on three sides and put it at the end of one of the 8" walls.


I proceeded to glue the walls one at a time until I encompassed the ground floor.


I put the door on the inside of the L-shape.


The inside corner took some wiggling to get into place.

I ended up with something that looked like this.


I move on to the side paneling on the first floor. I use the rivets on the flat panels to level the raised panels that I am gluing onto the wall.


The biggest panels go on the door wall.


The medium-sized panels go on the 8" wall.


The smallest panels go on the 4" walls.


I decided to add the door and windows next.


By putting the panels on first, I didn't struggle to line them up with the door blocking my view of the rivets.


The same remains true with the windows.


The key to the windows centers around lining the inside edge of the window up flush with the outside edge of the wall opening.


With the downstairs finished, I moved onto the roof. I take the last floor piece and one the 8" roof panels.

I apply glue to the sides of the tabs instead of the back and the strips in-between the tabs. I end up with the following after cleaning up excess glue.

I moved on to the 4" panels gluing and cleaning up excess glue in the same fashion as the previous panels. As with the 4" walls, I took a moment to dry fit them for the same reason of making they all went where I wanted them to go before securing them in place with glue.


As I went along, I realized I needed to swap around the pieces on the inside corner to make them fit. Even, with my change, it turned into a tight fit.


In the end, I possess a roof that looks like this.


I moved on to adding the raised panels next.

I used the rivets and the tabs to level out the panels. I try to not push but tap the panels onto the roof in order to not knock the panel off level.


The last thing to do consisted of building the ladder.


I applied glue to the sides of the tab, in the stretches in between, and up to the right angle at the top and to the bottom of the ladder. I cleaned up lots of extra glue on the ladder because of the many contact points so prepare yourself.


After leaving the ladder, roof, and ground floor to dry overnight, I put them together to make the completed building. After completing several other Laser Craft kits before this one, I managed to do it without using instructions or spending too much time doing it either.



If you wish to purchase and build your own Laser Craft Workshop 8" L-Shaped Blockhouse for $19.99 then go to their website by clicking here. Feel free to explore the rest of the Laser Craft Workshop website for additional MDF terrain kits by clicking here.


I hope you enjoyed this article. Please feel free to visit the rest of the site and our social media outlets below:






Until next, keep it dank!


Bailey

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page