top of page
Writer's pictureDank Lists

How to BUILD! Ravenwing Outrider


Hey folks, welcome back to How to BUILD! This week, we build the sergeant for the Outriders from the Indomitus Box but with a Dark Angels Ravenwing twist.

First, I raid my bits box and my spare sprues for Dark Angels bits. I grabbed a Dark Angels Primaris sergeant hand pointing from the Dark Angels Primaris Upgrade sprue. I selected a shoulder pauldron to go with it from the Dark Angels Veterans box. Finally, I pulled the Ravenwing icons, back standard, and motorcycle front from the Ravenwing upgrade sprue. All these bits will supplement the bits that come with the model in the Indomitus Box.

I start off following the normal instructions by building the rear wheel with Citadel Plastic Glue. I like Citadel Plastic Glue because it applies and drys fast for a solid seal. This being said, I use it sparing because a liberal use of this glue and a lazy finger will wipe away details or leave finger prints.

In order to place the rear wheel correctly, you need to put it on one axle on one half of the chassis.

I follow that up by pressing the other half of the chassis in place and it will securely lock the wheel in position.


The glaring face on the Indomitus head fits the laconic mood of a typical of Dark Angels character so I decided not to change it. Normally, I like to put heads on last in order to get the dynamic posing correct in relation to the rest of the model.

However, due to the push fit nature of the Indomitus models, you will want to put the head on when advised by the instructions. This being said, you can also clip off the push fit anchor on the head and position it anyway you want or swap with another marine head. I applied this trick to my Dark Angels Assault Intercessors with great success.

I put the head in its socket and then glued the front of the body to the back.

I then attached the Marine body to the bike chassis.

I proceed to apply the outer chassis with legs to the bike.

I forgot to place the handle bars before putting on the outer chassis so I had to remove and file down the post for the handlebar and then glue the handlebar directly to the chassis.

I then complete the left arm.

On the right shoulder, I snip and file off the post.

I then place the upgrade sprue arm.

I place a Veterans shoulder pad on the shoulder to finish off the arm.

I move to the back of the marine next. I again forgot to place the power pack earlier in the build so I removed the post of the pack and glued it directly to the back of the marine.


Now it is time for detail work such as the sword on the left hip.

I rescued the back standard from a previous eBay purchase due to scarcity of the upgrade sprue online. This is why it is already primed black.

And the Ravenwing icons all go on with ease.

I used the rivets on the side of the chassis to make where the icons went on straight.

The last detail takes a little more work and that is the wings on the front of the chassis. This is another piece I salvaged from eBay.

I snip them off and file down the edges.

I then position them parallel to the little box on the side of the chassis to complete the model.

I am pleased with how this model turned out and I am glad that it required only a few small audibles in the process due to me overlooking steps in the instruction manual. I love the process of building unique pieces for wargames which is why I started this project in the first place. Thank you all for coming along this creative journey with me. If you want to see more How to BUILD! Articles, particularly my Indomitus Captain build, please look through the rest of our blog and check out our Youtube Channel.


Keep it dank,


Bailey



461 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page