top of page
Writer's pictureDank Lists

How To: Paint an MDF Terrain 8" L-Shaped Building



Hey folks, Bailey here and today I am painting the Laser Craft Workshop Sector 38 8" L-Shaped Single Story Blockhouse. If you would like to see how I built this piece of MDF terrain, please check out my How To: Build article here. One may purchase this kit separately but I received mine in the Sector 38 Starter Set. If you want to know more about what comes in the starter set, please read our Unboxing! article by clicking here. Still reading but want me to just get on with it? Alright, let's get on to painting!



The image in my head for this project consists of an old, red barn. In order to get an old, faded red I want to use a darker primer and a dark red base coat. I also want to include a dry brush layer at the end.



I started off by taking my box outside and priming it with Rust-o-leum Flat Black Primer. Normally, I wouldn't use black as a primer for red but because I want it to end up with something that looks like an aged barn black will help. Additionally, I plan to use a darker red as a base coat and darker reds apply to black in the way many other colors and much better than bright red. The black primer helps give a duller, darker color with shadows in the corners.



After letting it breathe and lose its spray paint funk outside, I bring the blockhouse inside. I start off by using Apple Barrel's Cardinal Crimson. I shake the bottle before squeezing some out. I get a medium-sized brush to put the paint on the large areas of the building.



I go to a small brush for the outside and the roof panels so I get in the nooks and crannies.



I move on to the Apple Barrel Flag Red applied with the a medium-sized brush just like the Cardinal Crimson.


The picture above gives you an idea of the contrast between the two reds.


I mix the Flag Red with Apple Barrel Snow White in order to get a highlight color to dry brush with.


I pour a little dab of both colors next to each other.


I then use my brush to mix them to the color I want.



I then use up-down strokes to the dry brush the mixed color to the building. I end up with the building above.


Don't forget all the hard edges on the inside of the blockhouse.


I then move on to detailing the paneling. I choose the Apple Barrel Snow White for this because I want that Indiana barn color scheme. I don't paint as much of the outside panels as I did in past projects otherwise white would dominate the building too much.


Don't forget the inside and outside edges of the paneling, doors, and windows when painting the details of the blockhouse. I used a smaller detail brush for all of them. When I missed my mark and got white on the red where I did not want it, I quickly switched out for a clean brush filled with water and wiped away the color I didn't want. I don't want to scrub vigorously otherwise I'll take more paint off than I want.


I finished off by doing the panels on the roof too.


For an added level of detail and in order to distinguish the red panels from the red wall, I decided to pick out the rivets. I used a small brush and Folkart's Brushed Metal Brushed Silver.



Similar to the white, if I applied too much silver I used a brush of water to wipe away paint I didn't want.


Remember, the floor inside the blockhouse contains rivets too.


With all the rivets done, I possess the blockhouse in the picture above. With the main floor and roof completed, the last piece on the blockhouse remains; the ladder.



Returning to FolkArt's Brushed Metal Brushed Dark Gray and a small brush, I cover the entirety of the ladder. I take note to clear up any excess or clumping paint.



Next, I dry brush FolkArts Brushed Silver.



I want the dry brush here to highlight the exposed edges of the ladder and make them pop.



I place the ladder on the roof and of the main building for a completion photograph. Don't forget to take the model outside and apply a spray of Rust-oleum Matte Clear Varnish or equivalent sealer to seal the paint so it won't rub off after a few uses


This building takes longer to paint than the 8" x 4" building that I painted here. I spent about 3-4 hours on this blockhouse.


This wraps up my How To: Paint Laser Craft Workshop's MDF Terrain Sector 38 Hab Block 8" L-shape Blockhouse. If you want to purchase your own 8" L-shaped Single Story Blockhouse, you may for $19.99 from Laser Craft Workshop's website here.


For more How To:'s, please look through our blog and our Youtube channel.


Until next time, keep it dank!


Bailey

109 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page